Person holding glass ball reflecting sunset over lake

At the University of Wisconsin Department of Emergency Medicine, we aim to be nothing less than the best. In less than two decades we have designed and developed one of the most dynamic, forward-thinking residency training programs in the country, and though our growth has been swift and innovative, we've never lost sight of what grounds us: training the next generation of leaders in emergency medicine scholarship and service.

Our investment in your training, from your first shift as an intern to your last month as a pre-attending, is one of the biggest reasons why our graduates are recognized as emerging game changers in our specialty across the country and around the world.

PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

Mary Westergaard, MD

Vice Chair of Education

Undergraduate: University of Kentucky
MD: The Johns Hopkins University
Residency: Denver Health Medical Center
 
 

Read bio | mcwester@medicine.wisc.edu

Aaron Kraut, MD

Residency Program Director

Undergraduate: Middlebury College
MD: University of Vermont Larner College of Medicine
Residency: McGaw Medical Center of Northwestern University

Read bio | askraut@medicine.wisc.edu

Benjamin Schnapp, MD, MEd

Associate Program Director

Undergraduate: Brown University
MD: The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Residency: The Mount Sinai Hospital
Fellowship: Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
 

Read bio | bschnapp@medicine.wisc.edu

William Burns, MD

Assistant Program Director

Undergraduate: Marquette University
MD: Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine
Residency: Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Fellowship: Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Read bio | wpburns@medicine.wisc.edu

Kaitlin Ray, MD

Assistant Program Director

Undergraduate: Duke University
MD: University of Tennessee College of Medicine
Residency: Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
 
 

Read bio | karay@medicine.wisc.edu


 

Education Administration

Sarah Fallon

Residency Coordinator

smfallon@medicine.wisc.edu

Ashley Bowman

Residency Program Assistant

adbowman@medicine.wisc.edu

CURRENT RESIDENTS

PGY-3 Residents

 

Emily Duym, MD, MSc

Undergraduate: University of Pennsylvania
Medical School: Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University
Graduate: The London School of Economics and Political Science, M.Sc. Health, Community & Development

eduym@uwhealth.org

 

Megan Hannemann, MD

Undergraduate: DePauw University
Medical School: Indiana University School of Medicine

mhannemann@uwhealth.org

 

Michael Kern, MD, MA

Undergraduate: University of Wisconsin-Madison
Medical School: University of Wisconsin School of Medicine & Public Health
Graduate: George Washington University, Anthropology

mkern@uwhealth.org

 

Miranda Kohli, MD

Undergraduate: University of Wisconsin-Madison
Medical School: University of Wisconsin School of Medicine & Public Health

mkohli@uwhealth.org

 

Kirk Meyers, MD, MS

Undergraduate: University of Texas
Medical School: Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine
Graduate: Tulane University School of Medicine, Anatomy

kmeyers@uwhealth.org

 

Melissa Murray, MD

Undergraduate: Colby College
Medical School: University of Kentucky College of Medicine

mmurray3@uwhealth.org

 

Eric Neasi, MD

Undergraduate: University of California, Santa Barbara
Medical School: Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell

eneasi@uwhealth.org

 

Thaddeus (Tad) Schmitt, MD

Chief Resident
Undergraduate: University of Minnesota
Medical School: University of Illinois College of Medicine-Urbana

tschmitt@uwhealth.org

 

Matthew Stampfl, MD

Undergraduate: Rice University
Medical School: Baylor College of Medicine

mstampfl@uwhealth.org

 

Haley Taormina, MD

Chief Resident
Undergraduate: Western Illinois University
Medical School: Mayo Clinic School of Medicine

hpatterson2@uwhealth.org

 

Andrew Troger, MD

Chief Resident
Undergraduate: Harvard University
Medical School: Albany Medical College

atroger@uwhealth.org

PGY-2 Residents

 

Anthony Bai, MD

Undergraduate: Johns Hopkins University
Medical School: Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

gbai@uwhealth.org

 

Connor Brown, MD

Undergraduate: Boise State University
Medical School: University of Washington School of Medicine

brown3@uwhealth.org

 

Johnny Duan, MD

Undergraduate: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Medical School: Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

xduan@uwhealth.org

 

Michael Fareri, MD

Undergraduate: The Pennsylvania State University
Medical School: University of Cincinnati College of Medicine

mfareri@uwhealth.org

 

Amy Hummel, MD

Undergraduate: St. Olaf College
Medical School: University of Cincinnati College of Medicine

ahummel@uwhealth.org

 

Nathan LeDeaux, MD

Undergraduate: Grand Canyon University
Medical School: Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

nledeaux@uwhealth.org

 

Dainon Miles, MD

Undergraduate: Louisiana State University
Medical School: University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School

dmiles@uwhealth.org

 

Jennifer Mirrielees, MD, MS

Undergraduate: University of Texas at Austin
Medical School: University of Wisconsin School of Medicine & Public Health
Graduate: University of Wisconsin-Madison, Molecular & Cellular Pharmacology

jmirrielees@uwhealth.org

 

Quinn Strenn, MD, MBA

Undergraduate: University of Utah & University of Wisconsin-Green Bay
Medical School: University of Utah School of Medicine
Graduate: Sasin Graduate Institute of Business Administration of Chulalongkorn University

qstrenn@uwhealth.org

 

Daniel Wei, MD, MS

Undergraduate: Duke University
Medical School: Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

dwei@uwhealth.org

 

Arika Wieneke, MD

Undergraduate: Whitman College
Medical School: Western Michigan University, Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine

awieneke@uwhealth.org

 

Nick Wolfe, MD

Undergraduate: Santa Clara University
Medical School: Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine

jwolfe@uwhealth.org

 

Rudi Zurbuchen, MD

Undergraduate: University of Utah
Medical School: University of Utah School of Medicine

rzurbuchen@uwhealth.org

PGY-1 Residents

 

Mohammad Husain Bawany, MD

Undergraduate: St. John Fisher College
Medical School: University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry

mbawany@uwhealth.org

 

Michael Bezzerides, MD

Undergraduate: University of California-Davis
Medical School: Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
*U.S. Marine Corps Veteran

mbezzerides@uwhealth.org

 

Jesse Conterato, MD

Undergraduate: McGill University
Medical School: Rush University Medical Center

jconterato@uwhealth.org

 

Nicholas Genthe, MD

Undergraduate: University of Wisconsin-Madison
Medical School: University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

ngenthe@uwhealth.org

 

Bradley Glazer, MD

Undergraduate: Miami University
Medical School: University of Illinois College of Medicine

bglazier@uwhealth.org

 

Cassandra Hardy, MD

Undergraduate: Drake University
Medical School: University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine

chardy@uwhealth.org

 

Matthew Heffernan, MD

Undergraduate: University of Illinois
Medical School: Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

mheffernan@uwhealth.org

 

Priscilla Kennedy, MD

Undergraduate: University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Medical School: Central Michigan University College of Medicine

pkennedy@uwhealth.org

 

Brittany Kotek, MD

Undergraduate: DePaul University
Medical School: University of Illinois School of Medicine

bkotek@uwhealth.org

 

Skylar Larsen, MD

Undergraduate: Utah Valley University
Medical School: University of Utah School of Medicine

slarsen2@uwhealth.org

 

Nicolas Rubel, MD

Undergraduate: Nevada State College
Medical School: Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine

nrubel@uwhealth.org

 

Mikko Sayre, MD

Undergraduate: Western Washington University
Medical School: Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons

msayre@uwhealth.org

 

Sarah Soderberg, MD, MPH

Undergraduate: University of Wisconsin-Madison
Medical School: University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Graduate School: George Washington University Miliken Institute of Public Health

ssoderberg@uwhealth.org