Summa Cum Laude Citation

Diagnostic Accuracy of MR for the Evaluation of Acute Female Pelvic Pathology

Dr. Repplinger was awarded the Summa Cum Laude citation at the ASER 2018 Scientific Meeting for taking first place among the research presentations.

American Society of Emergency Radiology


2018 Young Educator of the Year

Clerkship Directors in Emergency Medicine (CDEM)

An Academy of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM)


2018 Top Doctor (Emergency Medicine)

Madison Magazine Top Docs 2018


2018 Service to Community Award

Jim Berbee of UW Health was honored with the Service to Community award from Madison Magazine for making significant differences in the health and welfare of those living in the Madison community. Berbee is the founder of the Berbee Derby Thanksgiving 10K run and 5K run/walk. He is a clinical assistant professor at the UW School of Medicine and Public Health and an emergency medicine physician at the William S. Middleton Memorial Veterans Hospital.

Madison Magazine Top Docs 2018


2018 Dean's Teaching Award

The Dean's Teaching Awards were established in 1992 to honor outstanding contributions in student education in medical school programs.  These awards are selected by a committee of faculty that have previously been honored for their excellence in teaching, and, as such, are the medical school's only peer-selected teaching award.

Criteria for selection of awardees includes:

  • Excellence in education, including teaching technology, evaluation methods, administrative efforts, etc.
  • Extraordinary and sustained dedication and effort on behalf of student education
  • Demonstrated high level of teaching effectiveness
  • Innovation in education

The award is in total $750 and accompanied by a plaque to be presented by the Dean at Medical Education Day.

University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health


WACEP Distinguished Service Award 2018

Wisconsin Chapter - American College of Emergency Physicians


2017 President's Award

The award goes to a person or organization that continually provides noteworthy work for Jefferson County law enforcement. Adrian Bump, President of the Association, said Med Flight's dedicated team plays a great role in safety in Jefferson County.

Jefferson County Chiefs and Sheriff Association


Distinguished Alumni Award

Dr. Jim Berbee '85, MS'87, MBA'89,  is among four recipients of the Wisconsin Alumni Association's highest distinction: the Distinguished Alumni Award. 

Berbee is a clinical assistant professor at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health and an emergency physician at the William S. Middleton Memorial Veteran's Hospital.

A four-time Ironman triathlete, Berbee once broke his collarbone during training, and the care he received inspired an interest in emergency medicine. After selling his highly successful business to the public company CDW in 2006, he attended Stanford University's School of Medicine and earned his MD in 2010. He subsequently completed his residency in emergency medicine at University Hospital.

He and his wife, Karen Walsh support human health and welfare projects through the BerbeeWalsh Foundation, including a $10 million gift to the UW School of Medicine and Public Health's Department of Emergency Medicine that has been transformational for faculty, staff and patients. Berbee is a trustee for the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, the Morgridge Institute for Research and WICell Research Institute.

Wisconsin Alumni Association


2017 Distinguished Air Medical Physician

Air Medical Physician Association (AMPA)


Recent Alumni Award

The Recent Alumni Award, established in 2003, is presented to alumni who received a medical degree from the Wayne State University School of Medicine within the last 15 years and who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement, community contributions or service to the WSU School of Medicine.

Wayne State University School of Medicine



EM resident and faculty are highlighted for their innovation in biomedical devices

Chris Ford, Michael Steuerwald

Disposable Video Laryngoscope Lens Clearing and the Force Sensing Devices tackle intubation challenges

Impact Report for Jim Berbee & Karen Walsh highlighting The BerbeeWalsh Prototype Pathway, a program that teaches student engineers to help clinicians solve real-world problems that improve human health. The brochure features Dr. Michael Steuerwald and Dr. Chris Ford's roles in the development of a Disposable Video Laryngoscope Lens Clearing Device and Force Sensing Device.